142 South Algoma Street
Thunder Bay, ON P7B 3B8

Phone: (807) 345-7612
Email: info@baycreditunion.com


Ilkka T. Ovaska Award

This award was established to honour the memory and work of Ilkka T. Ovaska. Mr. Ovaska was a member of Bay Credit Union’s Board of Directors for 29 years and served as the President of our Board for two decades.

The Award Program

The Ilkka T. Ovaska Award for Social Responsibility sponsored by Bay Credit Union recognizes a member of our community who has demonstrated exemplary achievements in promoting social responsibility in our community.


Nominations are encouraged on behalf of individuals who have taken social responsibility and good citizenship to new heights. Achievements may relate to:

  1. volunteering in projects which address local social or economic concerns; and
  2. working beyond expectations for a social service agency or charity contributing to the benefit of our local community.

When making your nomination, please explain how your nominee met, or meets, the criteria. If nominating an individual who is currently employed by a social service agency or a charity, please clarify how this individual has demonstrated dedication above and beyond their job description to provide aid in our community.

Please provide as much information as you can. Feel free to attach additional information in support of your nomination.

Nomination Deadline

Nominations must be received by October 1st of the current year at the following address:

Ilkka T. Ovaska Award for Social Responsibility
Bay Credit Union Limited
142 S. Algoma Street
Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3B8

Further questions may be directed to Tarja Kowalchuk, Administration Manager, at 683-2610.